Basically everything is good here in Hood River

 

trying to drive away, but these kids really wanted us to stay

trying to drive away, but these kids really wanted us to stay

Monday night we talked to this guy for a really long time. He was just chilling in the shade by his house. Perfect opportunity for a nice chat. At first he kind of just wanted to like argue and try to confuse us or something but we testified way boldly and by the end he kind of got quiet. Like he had really lame doubts. ie: he asked if we drank and we said no, he’s like why and we are like well it’s pretty destructive to your body. And then he was like cherries are bad for you too, they have pesticides on them. And we are just like uhh what point are you trying to make?  Anyway, i was kind of suprised about how bold I was at telling him what’s real. He said he couldn’t read. But I don’t know if I believe him or not. He said we could come back so who really knows. And then his neighbor just gave us a huge bag of cherries.

Every Wednesday pretty much we bring this member with us and we went to try this one lady we are teaching but her son answered the door and at first he was like ehh I’m not really interested. But then I remembered that his mom had said he didn’t like church cause it’s just the same thing every week so we chatted a little about the sacrament and how cool it is to have a fresh start every week. And then somehow he said he was going thru a hard time and he was curious why good people had challenges. And that’s a huge question a ton of people have. But I’ve been learning more and more that He gives us the challenge because He loves us. God wants us to be stronger and learn and grow, and I know that’s only possible when we aren’t just like super comfortable. I love the challenges I have had and I love what I have learned.  I am not perfect or anywhere close, but I know I am learning. And then he thanked us and said we actually helped a lot. I love when people just give us a chance because we really are missionaries to help people and not just preach about how awesome the church is.  I am sad that people just think all we want to do is baptize people.

Last night we totally taught a bunch of lessons and the coolest one was the last one. This lady and her 4 daughters. They said they had Mormon friends and were fine with all churches. We watched the “Because of Him” video cause it is always cool to watch. They were all super nice and we told them about the Book of Mormon and they were like well ya that makes sense that Jesus would also visit the Americas because he loves everyone and wants us all to know how to be happy now and forever. And then we got in the car and were stoked and then they came out and were like wait do you want pasoli??  I always say no to everything out of habit but Hermana Peterson was like yeaah!!  So they gave us a nice big Tupperware of soup! So it was like double Yeaaaa.

So basically everything is good here in Hood River. It is hot some days but people give us watermelon and stuff. I hope everything is beautiful in California and you guys are enjoying the beach because I really miss it and I would love to rollerblade along the strand right now. So enjoy it!!!!!  And rollerblade on the beach for me please.  Much love.

a relief society activity at a member's lavender farm

a relief society activity at a member’s lavender farm

Leave a Reply

